In the clear

Well, the last six or seven months have gone by like a blur. It’s crazy how it all started. Just a lump I noticed on the right side of my neck one day, only a week or so after starting a new job in Lancaster. Then finding out the mass was cancerous, and nervously waiting to find out what the side effects of chemotherapy would be, only to prove over the coming weeks and months that cancer couldn’t stop me, that the side effects would be very minimal, and that I could continue to work and live a relatively normal life throughout treatment.

Of course, I couldn’t have done it without all of the love and support of my family, church friends and colleagues. One day I’ll take the time to sit down and write out thank-yous to the many of you who helped along this journey. Just know for now it meant the world to me, from those who drove me to and from appointments, to those who cooked meals for Sam and I, to those would just occasionally check in, it truly warms my heart to know we are loved so much.

I also couldn’t have done it without God’s grace. It hasn’t been easy, but this trial has provided us an opportunity to grow stronger in our faith, and perhaps open the eyes and ears of others to the Gospel.

There’s been nights when Sam and I have cried, wondering why we were afflicted with such a test. Asking God why He would throw such a wrench in our plans to start a family – a family we are still hopeful He will one day bless us with. There were the days over at Cancer Care when I felt like I shouldn’t be in there, looking around and noticing I was the youngest person there. This whole year has been tough. Sam lost her grandma to cancer. My dad was hospitalized and is still on the path to recovery. Some folks at our church have lost loved ones, others have been hit with devastating news related to their health.

There’s also been the pretty pennies I’ve had to fork to get my car fixed – and as a matter of fact I just returned from dropping Sam’s car off at the shop to get fixed. I know these last items are material objects, which surely don’t bother me as much, but when thrown on top of everything else we’ve had to deal with this year, it can get to be a bit much. Trust me when I say I’ll be glad when this year is over, because I definitely feel like this has been a year of trials. Still, I’ve learned to accept these bumps in the road as a way of life. Stuff happens. There’s gonna be ups and there’s gonna be downs. And we have to take both in stride, trusting in God when times are good and when times are bad.

But given all that we and others have been through this year, today’s bit of good news is much-needed.

All Clear: Sam tagged along for my appointment with my oncologist this morning, where we learned of the results of last week’s CT scan.

Aside from scar tissue left over on the right side of my neck as a result of the chemo, the doctor said that I’m in the clear. In other words, I’m cancer-free. For now, anyways. The chemo did its job. It killed the cancer. I’ll have a follow-up CT scan in six months – and learn of the results on March 24, which will be Sam’s birthday. I’ll have another CT scan six months after that. If those scans come back all clear, I’ll be even happier.

It’s worth noting here the type of Hodgkin’s Lymphoma I had is a type that could never show up again or could return in a year, three years or 20 years. As a result, I’ll be getting a CT scan once a year for the rest of my life. Plus, I now know what to look out for. Or should I say feel for, as in keeping tabs on the lymph nodes in my neck, armpits, stomach and groin. So if it does show back up in the future, we’ll be able to catch it early. But lets hope we never have to cross that bridge again.

For now I am more relieved than anything. Relieved that I don’t have to go through chemo again, because although I didn’t have many side effects, it’s not all that fun.

And I am thankful, to God for making Sam and I stronger in our faith through this trial, for bringing us closer together over this summer and showing us we can make it through anything together, and for showing His love by providing us with an amazing support system.

You may be wondering what’s next. I certainly am. Getting cancer surely makes you think about your future and all that you still want to accomplish with the time God has allotted. There’s some career goals on the horizon I’d like to tackle. Sam and I have to wait six months until we can start trying for kids. I’d like to help my dad return to full health. I’ll continue the labor of love of trying to lead some of my family members to Christ. Next year, I’d like to run the Lancaster Red Rose 5-miler and maybe even a half-marathon later in the year. And, lastly, Sam and I have began taking steps towards planning a cross-country road trip, visiting some awesome destinations and camping at spots along the way. It’s something we’ve always wanted to do since we met. And this whole cancer thing has given us a kick in the butt, I suppose, to finally crossing it off our bucket list. Hopefully next summer I’ll be able to use this blog to document that trip. In the meantime, when I get a chance I’ll occasionally check back in on here, perhaps sharing some of the high points and low points from the last seven months.

God bless,

John

Leave a comment